SEA URGE Pod Agreement

Our Unlearning Racism in Geoscience (URGE; www.urgeoscience.org) pod includes membership by the president of the organization and the chair of the board of trustees. We plan to schedule the following meetings to share our work with the entire SEA organization, including the full SEA Leadership and Board of Trustees:

- Ongoing mention of URGE updates in Bi-weekly All-Hands Emails with link to URGE session webpages
- Ongoing conversations between pod members and Board members throughout the URGE program
- Meeting 1 Presentation of Pod Proposed Actions to all staff (All-Hands, including ships' crew) for feedback - TBD
- Meeting 2 Presentation of Pod Proposed Actions to Board of Trustees TBD
 - Schedule additional meetings here to execute plans

We are committed to URGE's primary objectives:

- 1. Deepen the community's knowledge of the effects of racism on the participation and retention of black, brown, and indigenous people in Geoscience.
- 2. Use the existing literature, expert opinion, and personal experiences to develop antiracist policies and strategies.
- 3. Share, discuss, and modify anti-racist policies and strategies within a dynamic community network and on a national stage.

We are committed to our pod's objectives:

- 1. Discuss the racial justice, equity, and inclusivity of our organization (Current state)
- 2. Identify opportunities to improve our organization's approach to DEI (Growth areas)
- 3. Choose top priorities of actions we will take as an organization, i.e. Action Plan (SMART Objectives)
- 4. State how we will evaluate our progress against our objectives (Measuring performance)

We are committed to pursuing these objectives individually, as a pod, and as an organization.

Signature Date

Pod Leader:

Kara Lavender Law Feb. 12, 2021

Pod Members:

Craig Marin Feb. 12, 2021

Crickett Warner 12 February 2021

Jessica Donohue 12 Feb. 2021

Jessica McWade 16 Feb. 2021

Emily Dailey 16 Feb. 2021

Olivia Lord 17 Feb. 2021

Paul Joyce 17 Feb. 2021

Peg Brandon 17 February 2021

Heather Page 19 Feb. 2021

Jeff Schell 19 Feb. 2021

Allison Taylor 19 Feb. 2021

Erin Bryant 19 Feb. 2021