



URGE Pod Agreement for University of Oklahoma

This agreement is between OU CAGS & MCEE POD and Leadership at the University of Oklahoma. Our Unlearning Racism in Geoscience (URGE; www.urgeoscience.org) pod has the following meetings scheduled with the University/Organization Leadership:

- Meeting 1 Introduction to URGE and Discussion of Pod Goals Friday 26th February 2-3pm
 - o Berrien Moore Dean College Atmospheric & Geographic Sciences
 - Mike Stice Dean Mewbourne College of Earth & Energy
 - o Belinda Higgs Hyppolite Vice President of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
 - Jane Irungu Associate Provost for Inclusive Faculty Excellence
- Open Invitation for leadership to attend a regular pod meeting TBD
- Meeting 2 Follow-Up Discussion of Pod Proposal and Actions TBD last week April/first week of May (scheduling in progress)

We are committed to URGE's primary objectives:

- 1. Deepen the community's knowledge of the effects of racism on the participation and retention of black, brown, and indigenous people in Geoscience¹
- 2. Use the existing literature, expert opinion, and personal experiences to develop antiracist policies and strategies^{2,3}
- 3. Share, discuss, and modify anti-racist policies and strategies within a dynamic community network and on a national stage.

We are committed to our pod's objectives:

- 1. Discuss and assess the racial justice, equity, and inclusivity of our organization.
- 2. Develop an anti-racism Action Plan with actions specific to issues at University/Organization including methods for measuring and reporting progress.

¹R. E. Bernard, E. H. G. Cooperdock, No progress on diversity in 40 years. Nature Publishing Group. 11, 1–5 (2018).

² https://notimeforsilence.org/

³ https://www.change.org/p/geoscientists-call-for-a-robust-anti-racisim-plan-for-the-geosciences



We are committed to pursuing these objectives individually, as a pod, and as an organization.

EM&t. 18 Feb 2021	min Hic 2/23/2021
Pod Leader(s) Date	Uni./Org. Leadership Date
Emily Jimmy 18 Feb 2021	Run Mrn 2/25/2021
Pod Leader(s) Date	Uni./Org. Leadership Date

Xiaowei Chen 21 Feb 2021
Pod Leader(s) Date

Pod Members

Aisha Owusu Tom Galarneau Amy McGovern **Emily** Tinney Olivia VanBuskirk Naoko Sakaeda Cameron Homeyer Lynn Sorghan Megan Elwood Madden Brett Carpenter

Hamidreza Karami

Woodle

Morgan



Elinor Martin

Emma Kuster

Sadiksha Rai

Matthew Flournoy

Elisa Murillo

Patrick Hyland

Ben Schenkel

Derek Rosendahl

Kato Dee

Greg McFarquhar

Brian Greene

Patrick Skinner

Charles Kuster

Hrag Najarian

Petra Klein

Xiaowei Chen

Mashhad Fahes

Andy Elwood Madden

Zach Williams

Amanda Murphy

Aaron Johnson

Kelsey Britt

Randy Chase