URGE Pod Agreement for Lamont Campus

The Lamont Pod members span multiple institutions within Columbia University including Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory (LDEO), International Research Institute for Climate and Society (IRI), Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN), and the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences (DEES). This agreement is between **URGELamont** and the collective leadership of these institutions.

Our URGE Lamont pod has the following meetings scheduled with the Leadership:

Meeting 1 - Introduction to URGE and Discussion of Pod Goals - February 11th, 2021

Meeting 2 - Invitation for leadership to attend a regular pod meeting - Open Invitation

Meeting 3 - Follow-Up Discussion - TBD

We are committed to URGE's primary objectives:

- 1. Deepen the community's knowledge of the effects of racism on the participation and retention of black, brown, and indigenous people in Geoscience
- 2. Use the existing literature, expert opinion, and personal experiences to develop anti-racist policies and strategies
- 3. Share, discuss, and modify anti-racist policies and strategies within a dynamic community network and on a national stage.

We are committed to our pod's objectives:

- 1. Discuss and assess the racial justice, equity, and inclusivity of our organization.
- 2. Continue to develop and implement anti-racist action items, building upon recommendations laid out in the LDEO, IRI, CIESIN anti-racism reports.

We are committed to pursuing these objectives individually, as a pod, and as a campus.

Pod Leaders:

Arianna Varuolo-Clarke, Rachel Lupien, Ingrid Izaquirre, Mercedes Paulino, Kevin Uno, Hannah Sweets, Zhonghua Zheng, Bob Newton, Kuheli Dutt, Jennifer Middleton

Date: January 29, 2021

IRI Director: John Furlow John
CIESIN Director: Robert Chen

LDEO Director: Maureen Raymo

Myran

DEES Chair: Jerry McManus

Jerry McManus

Pod Members:

Peltier, Carly Sandstrom, Michael Fiore, Arlene

Bartels, Cassandra

Steckler, Michael Myers, Elise

Hines, Sophie Biasutti, Michela Keisling, Benjamin Schmidt, Jolynn Winckler, Gisela Peteet, Dorothy Hurley, Sarah Kaplan, Michael

Giles, Sarah Black, Erin

Resnick, Drew Creel, Roger

Turner, Jacquelyn Commane, Roisin Anderson, Weston Habicht, Helen Harrison, Jamie O'Mara, Nick Yuan, Xiaojun Lamp, Jennifer

Heusser, Linda Moseley, Lauren Jasper, Claire Spergel, Julian

Kodama, Sam Kastens, Kim

Boytinck, Emily Brenner, Logan

Cooper, Sharon Oelkers, Rose Badgley, Grayson Case, Elizabeth Acosta, Kailani Balter-Kennedy, Allie Lenssen, Nathan

Powell, Bristol Munoz, Ángel G. Abell, Jordan Olsson, Ann

Birnbaum, Janine Tolstoy, Maya D'Andrea, William Zappa, Christopher.

Jones, Spencer McManus, Jerry Kingslake, Jonny Slagle, Angela Dowden, Justine Song, Dongping Tuholske, Cascade deRoberts, Nicole Hultquist, Carolynne Connolly, Craig Adamo, Susana B. Braun, Melody

Hoenisch, Baerbel Chesley, Christine

Baptista, Sandra Schaefer, Joerg