



## URGE Pod Agreement for the University of Wisconsin's Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences and the Space Science and Engineering Center

This agreement is between the University of Wisconsin AOS and SSEC Mega Pod, the chair of AOS and the director of SSEC. The leadership has agreed to attend the 8 sessions of our Unlearning Racism in Geoscience (URGE; www.urgeoscience.org) pod.

We are committed to URGE's primary objectives:

- 1. Deepen the community's knowledge of the effects of racism on the participation and retention of black, brown, and indigenous people in Geoscience
- 2. Use the existing literature, expert opinion, and personal experiences to develop anti-racist policies and strategies.
- 3. Share, discuss, and modify anti-racist policies and strategies within a dynamic community network and on a national stage.

We are committed to our pod's objectives:

- 1. Discuss and assess the racial justice, equity, and inclusivity of our organization.
- 2. Develop an anti-racism action plan with actions specific to issues at the University of Wisconsin including methods for measuring and reporting progress.

We are committed to pursuing these objectives individually, as a pod, and as an organization.

A meeting will be held after the eighth session on May 7 to discuss the deliverable products and develop a workplan that will accomplish the goals of URGE's mission.

Signature

1/28/2021

Date

Clizabeth Maroon 1/29/2021

R. Bradley Pierce 1/28/2021

7,000

28 January 2021

**AOS Chair** 

R. Bradley Pierce

1/28/2021

SSEC Director

Pod Members: Ángel F. Adames-Corraliza, Jerrold Acdan, Larissa Back, Hannah Zanowski, Zoe Brooke Zibton, Nuo Chen, Bailey Murphy, Maria Vasys, Anne Sledd, Kari Ledesma, Taydra Low, Jon Martin, Brad Pierce, Angela Rowe, Elin McIlhattan, Kaitlyn Heinlein, Dave Mikolajczyk, Rosa M Vargas Martes, Stephanie Bradshaw, Marian Mateling, Cassidy Johnson, Michael Morgan, Elizabeth Maroon, Claire Petersen, Dan Vimont, Stephanie Henderson, Julia Shates, Derrick Herndon, Juliet Pilewskie, Sreenath Paleri, Brianne Andersen, Alicia Hoffman, Vijit Maithel, Tristan L'Ecuyer, Terrence Pagano