



URGE Pod Agreement for FSU

This agreement is between FSU Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences URGE Pod and [Uni./Org. Leadership] at the Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences at FSU. Our Unlearning Racism in Geoscience (URGE; www.urgeoscience.org) pod has the following meetings scheduled with the University/Organization Leadership:

- Meeting 1 Introduction to URGE and Discussion of Pod Goals 10 February, DEI Committee Meeting
 - Kellerman, Biede, and Sparrow from URGE group are members of the EOAS DEI committee and presented information on URGE at regularly scheduled meeting
 - Knapp (chair of DEI committee) and Salters (head of department) were present
- Meeting 2 Invitation for leadership to attend a regular pod meeting Racism and Accountability week – First week of May
- Meeting 3 Follow-Up Discussion of Pod Proposal and Actions TBD end of summer after plans have been revised

We are committed to URGE's primary objectives:

- 1. Deepen the community's knowledge of the effects of racism on the participation and retention of black, brown, and indigenous people in Geoscience¹
- 2. Use the existing literature, expert opinion, and personal experiences to develop antiracist policies and strategies²,³
- 3. Share, discuss, and modify anti-racist policies and strategies within a dynamic community network and on a national stage.

We are committed to our pod's objectives:

- 1. Discuss and assess the racial justice, equity, and inclusivity of our organization.
- 2. Develop an anti-racism Action Plan with actions specific to issues at FSU EOAS including methods for measuring and reporting progress.

^{1/2} R. E. Bernard, E. H. G. Cooperdock, No progress on diversity in 40 years. Nature Publishing Group. 11, 1–5 (2018). https://notimeforsilence.org/

³ https://www.change.org/p/geoscientists-call-for-a-robust-anti-racisim-plan-for-the-geosciences

We are committed to pursuing these objectives individually, as a pod, and as an organization.

February 18, 2021

Pod Leader(s)

February 18, 2021

Chair, FSU EOAS DEI Committee

Pod Members: FSU affiliated: Anne Kellerman, Virginia Biede, Kelly Graham, Jon Hawkings, Amy Holt, Katy Sparrow, Megan Behnke, Sommer Starr, Derrick Vaughn, Non-FSU members: KC Cushman, Sarah Ellen Johnston