



URGE Pod Agreement for the Jackson School of Geosciences (JSG) Pod at The University of Texas at Austin

This agreement is between the JSG Pod and the Jackson School of Geosciences leadership at The University of Texas at Austin. Our Unlearning Racism in Geoscience (URGE; <u>www.urgeoscience.org</u>) pod has the following meetings scheduled with the University/Organization Leadership:

- Meeting 1 Introduction to URGE and Discussion of Pod Goals
 - Rowan Martindale (Pod Leader)
 - Claudia Mora (Dean of the Jackson School of Geosciences)
 - Demian Saffer (Director of the UT Institute for Geophysics, JSG)
 - Daniel Stockli (Chair of the Department of Geological Sciences, JSG)
 - Scott Tinker (Director of the Bureau of Economic Geology, JSG)
- Meeting 2 Invitation for leadership to attend regular pod meetings
 - Links to "podlet" meetings can be found on the UT URGE Canvas Site: <u>https://utexas.instructure.com/courses/1307632/</u>
 - Several members of leadership plan to participate in the Podlet discussions
- Meeting 3 Follow-Up Discussion of Pod Proposal and Actions Date/Time TBD

We are committed to URGE's primary objectives:

- 1. Deepen the community's knowledge of the effects of racism on the participation and retention of Black, Brown, and Indigenous people in Geoscience¹
- 2. Use the existing literature, expert opinion, and personal experiences to develop anti-racist policies and strategies^{2,3}
- 3. Share, discuss, and modify anti-racist policies and strategies within a dynamic community network and on a national stage.

We are committed to our pod's objectives:

- 1. Discuss and assess the racial justice, equity, and inclusivity of our organization.
- 2. Develop an anti-racism Action Plan with actions specific to issues at the Jackson School of Geosciences (and UT Austin more broadly) including methods for measuring and reporting progress.

¹ R. E. Bernard, E. H. G. Cooperdock, No progress on diversity in 40 years. Nature Publishing Group. 11, 1–5 (2018).

² <u>https://notimeforsilence.org/</u>

³<u>https://www.change.org/p/geoscientists-call-for-a-robust-anti-racisim-plan-for-the-geosciences</u>

We are committed to pursuing these objectives individually, as a pod, and as an organization.

Claudie & home 2/2/2021

Uni./Org. Leadership Date

De St Feb. 2, 2021

Der 2 12 Feb 4, 2021

Uni./Org. Leadership Date

Q. Milli February 1st, 2021

Uni./Org. Leadership Date

Uni./Org. Leadership Date

Roman Martindele February 1st, 2021

Pod Leader

Date

Pod Members:

First Name	Last Name
Esly	Balderas Montano
Emily	Bamber
Jay	Banner
Lisa	Boucher
Donnie	Brooks
Daniel	Campos
Maria Angela	Capello
Bayani	Cardenas
Tristan	Childress
Gail	Christeson
John	Christian
Ethan	Conrad
Sarah	Davis
Tian	Dong
Anthony	Edgington
Sarah	Fakhreddine
Megan	Flansburg
Kyle	Fouke
Julia	Gale
Andrew	Gase
Tim	Goudge
Antoniette Greta	Grima
Heather	Gunn
Grace	Guryan
Evelin	Gutierrez
Hima	Hassenruck-Gudipati
Emily	Hinshaw
Eve	Hostettler
Susan	Hovorka
Scarlette	Hsia
Charles	Jackson
Farzam	Javadpour
Joel	Johnson
Katherine	Jones
Melissa	Kemp
Charlie	Kerans
Richard	Ketcham
Lucy Tingwei	Ko
Cullen	Kortyna
Staci	Loewy
Chris	Lowery
	-

First Name	Last Name
Rowan	Martindale
Tricia	Martone
Nick	Meszaros
David	Mohrig
Mariel	Nelson
Dev	Niyogi
Yuko	Okumura
Cornel	Olariu
Adam	Papendieck
Geeta	Persad
Natasha	Piatrunia
Mary	Poteet
Eiini	Poulaki
Evan	Ramos
Veronika	Redensek
Will	Reyes
Kim	Rife
Catherine	Ross
Estefania	Salgado
Kirk	Scanlan
Cat	Schmidt
Marian L.	Schmidt
Natasha	Sekhon
Brandon	Shuck
Mark	Shuster
Zach	Sickmann
Sinjini	Sinha
Michael	Snook
Krista	Soderlund
Patty	Standring
Danny	Stockli
Gaia	Stucky de Quay
Sabiha	Tabassum
Darrel	Tremaine
Daniel	Trugman
Alison	Tune
Anna	Turetcaia
Leah	Turner
Claire	Williams
Shuai	Yan

JSG Colleagues in other Pods:

First Name	Last Name
Sophie	Goliber
Kathy	Ellins
Owen	Callahan