





This agreement is between the <u>U Wyo Geology & Geophysics URGE Pod</u> and the <u>Department</u> <u>of Geology and Geophysics</u> at the <u>University of Wyoming</u>. Our Unlearning Racism in Geoscience (URGE; www.urgeoscience.org) pod has the following meetings scheduled with the Department Leadership:

Meeting 1 - Introduction to URGE and discussion of pod goals - Wednesday Feb 3, 1-2 pm MST Meeting participants

Cliff Riebe (Pod Leader), Dario Grana (Pod Participant), Mark Clementz (Department Head, Dept. Geology & Geophysics), Brandon McElroy (Assoc. Department Head, Dept. Geology & Geophysics)

Meeting 2 - Invitation for leadership to attend a regular pod meeting - Date & Time TBD

Meeting 3 - Follow-up discussion of pod proposal and actions - Date & Time TBD

Because pod participant Dario Grana is also on the Head's advisory committee, there is a natural mechanism for regular updates on pod activities. At each Head's advisory committee meeting, Dr. Grana will provide a brief update on the pod's progress.

We are committed to URGE's primary objectives:

- 1) Deepen the community's knowledge of the effects of racism on the participation and retention of black, brown, and indigenous people in Geoscience
- 2) Use the existing literature, expert opinion, and personal experiences to develop anti-racist policies and strategies
- 3) Share, discuss, and modify anti-racist policies and strategies within a dynamic community network and on a national stage.

We are committed to our pod's objectives:

- 1) Discuss and assess the racial justice, equity, and inclusivity of our organization.
- 2) Develop an Action Plan including anti-racism actions specific to issues at the University of Wyoming including methods for measuring and reporting progress.

We are committed to pursuing these objectives individually, as a pod, and as an organization.

Signature	Com	Date	<u>Feb. 5, 2021</u>	Cliff Riebe (Pod Leader)
Signature	Mark Clement	Date	<u>Feb. 5, 2021</u>	Mark Clementz (Dept. Head)

<u>Pod Participants:</u> Cliff Riebe, Dario Grana, JJ Shinker, Greg Stark, Jennifer Grischuk, Crystal Luna, Jessie Shields, Ellen Currano, Ellen Polites, Rodrigo Rangel, Eva Smith, Ioana Stefanescu, Simone Runyon, Lorelei Curtin, Tessa Ray-Cozzens, Jordan Von Eggers